You Are Loved

If you’re anything like me, you tend to be hardest on yourself.

“I’m not good enough to make a difference. I don’t have a ‘gift.’ I don’t belong in that class of people.” You tell yourself time and time again that you will never measure up, that you’re not good enough, and that everybody else has it together and you haven’t figured life out yet.

The worst part of it, is that more often than not, I believe myself. I believe that I’m not good enough. I compare myself to everybody around me. They make more money than I do. They’re more successful than I am. They got a promotion. On and on and on and on. It never ends.

Can I tell you something? Something that will make you uncomfortable?

You are loved. By the creator of the Universe.

Let that sink in. You are loved. You are loved more infinitely than you will ever know. You are loved to the point of exhaustion. You are loved not because you’ve done anything great, but because Love created you, and by His very nature, he created you in his image, you will ALWAYS be loved. There will never be a time in your life when you are not loved. Nothing you do, nothing you say, nowhere you go, will ever change that.

You can’t outrun it. You can’t escape it. You can’t undo it. The love of the Father will be there. Forever. Like a birthmark. A constant reminder of your true self. An identifier. His love is what makes you who you are. It higher, deeper, wider, and more vast than you can possibly imagine. It is big enough to handle the deepest anguish, and small enough to care about the most seemingly insignificant details of your life.

Are you uncomfortable yet?

I am. I don’t deserve that love. I’m not good enough for it. I’m not smart enough, haven’t done enough good things, and haven’t lived a life worthy of that kind of scandalous love. But that’s the crazy part. It’s available for everyone. The burned out, the spiritually bankrupt, and those who seem to have it all together. Those for whom it seems like everything always works out.

Love plays no favorites.

Live in that. Wake up soaked in that love. Like waking on a hot night, drenched in sweat, be soaked in his love. Wear it like a blanket. Carry it with you. Live life as if you are intimately loved by the one who put the stars in their place. Because you are.

And so am I.

Leave a Reply

