Why Worry

What if we weren’t worried?

I don’t know about you, but whether or not I want to admit it, more of my life is influenced by worry than I would like. I’m worried the car will break down. I’m worried the news from the doctor won’t be good. I’m worried the money will run out, or that the girls are going to get hurt.

Fear and worry are inseparably linked in my life. Worry leads to fear, which leads to worry, and so on and so forth, leaving me consumed and obsessed over every little detail of life.

Where does this come from? What is it that drives this worry? I have money to pay the bills. I’m healthy. My marriage is healthy, and my children are safe. What do I have to worry about?

I think it stems from my lack of true faith that Jesus is enough. Don’t get me wrong, I believe in Jesus, I believe that he sustains and provides. I believe all this in my head. I get it. If I’m honest, it’s a constant struggle for me to legitimately embrace this idea in my heart. I worry. Constantly. About everything. I constantly live days or weeks in the future. What if?

Here is the thing. Worry is sin. No way around it. Jesus commands us not to worry. What I’m saying when I choose to worry (worry is a choice) is that I know my future better than Jesus. I know what is best for me, what I need, and what will make me happy, better than Jesus does.

At the end of the day, I have to choose to let go of worry. It is a daily struggle for me to surrender that to him, but it is one that I’m learning is so valuable and freeing.

Leave a Reply

